17 Jul

Curious about – Screen Printing

I’ve always wanted to try this. So when a workshop with the London Textiles Studio popped up on Groupon I called up my crafty friend, Sophie and booked us on.  I couldn’t be sure if I’d be any good, but I realised quickly that if I wasn’t, then there would be cake. I left the bubba with her Dad and cycled up to get my train into town – ahh the freedom!  

I decided to create a design based on the lyrics to the song I sing to Nancy every time she goes to sleep, La La Lu.  I could have made my life easier – this was a pretty tricky design to cut out with a scalpel!  But it was lots of fun.  The process of drawing the design, cutting it out and printing took a lot of concentration and was very therapeutic.  I’m pretty pleased with the result too!  I plan to frame it for Nancy’s nursery and hopefully it’s something she’ll always keep.

Curiosity satisfied.  I like screen printing.

