One day ‘working from home’ with a one year old

21 Dec

Illness and childcare misunderstandings massively screwed with the last two weeks and meant that we’ve had to look after Nancy ourselves for  five days when we needed to be at work.  This has involved a lot of ‘working from home’ – an interesting idea for someone who has a sick, needy and inquisitive little explorer in their care.  Here’s how it went:

Hmm, following a one year old up the stairs around maybe 10 times (not because we needed to go up the stairs, but for fun!) wasn’t exactly on my to-do list today.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ahh ok, well we’re upstairs now.  I’ll just work wherever she decides to play.  Should be cool…and this feeding chair is way more comfortable than my swivel chair at work.  Snowy, keep an eye on Nancy will you?  Thanks.

IMAG2053

Exhausted all play options in the nursery – we’re now in Nancy’s favourite room in the house.  Her favourite because it’s full of her favourite things – bottles, pots and tubes.  Wasn’t quite expecting her to find her fun actually inside the shower, but what the hell she’s happy, and I can hardly talk – I’m sat on the loo sending an email (lid down).

IMAG2064-1

She soon got bored of sucking shampoo bottles in the shower and headed into our bedroom.  Ahh this is more like it, the comfort of my own bed – where better to work?  Meanwhile Nancy is happy looking at her own reflection.  And leaving evidence of her cold behind on the mirror.  Nice.

IMAG2073-1-2-1

Having explored all rooms upstairs, it’s now time to bomp* down the stairs and hang out in the living room.  It was at this point that Nancy and Duck no.1 decide to work out what’s so interesting about the bright, shiny box that I’ve been carrying around, in some kind of laptop ambush which almost led to the deletion of a table I’d been working on since the bathroom.

IMAG2091-1

At the end of a long hard day of attempted work, cooking, cleaning and cuddles, I realise I’ve not eaten and decide to walk around the corner to the pub for a burger, where it becomes clear that working from home means that even my lime and soda gets a dose of Nancy.

IMAG2095

Conclusion:  I’m a big fan of working in different environments, mixing things up a bit.  But if I’m honest I prefer a cafe, the library or the park where you can go about your business without a small person wrapping their arms around your legs so you can’t move, giving you a face full of yogurt or pressing all the buttons on your laptop.  Yeh I managed to get a fair amount done while she was playing and I crammed work and calls in during her naps, but if I’d been really under it, as I often am, this would not have worked at all.  Don’t be fooled, working from home with a bubba ain’t cool.

* Bomping:  A term made up by my own mother to describe sitting on your Mum’s lap while you bounce together from one stair to the next to get to the bottom. ‘Tis fun and quite frankly the only way to descend the stairs.

Leave a Reply

